art hour

This podcast is the archive of the ‘Art Hour’; a radio show dedicated to contemporary art, that was taking place once a month, from 2016 to 2020, on Soho Radio London. The Art Hour was presenting an internationally renowned artist or visual arts professional, who was playing their favourite tunes and chatting with art adviser and curator Vassiliki Tzanakou about their practice, demystifying the so called ‘Art World’. All 44 episodes (apart from the lost interview with Michael Armitage, for which we are devastated) are available  on the ARTinTRA website and also on a variety of online platforms such as Spotify and Google play. Please click here to visit all distribution platforms. 

Up until 2017 all interviews were co-presented with Jon Sharples. 


08.11.2020 Conrad Shawcross

13.09.2020 Terry Smith

19.07.2020 Dea Vanagan (Director Hauser and Wirth Somerset)

21.06.2020 Oliver Beer

24.05.2020 Ai-Da (the Robot artist)

26.04.2020 Lang Xiao (Founder of Art Touch Consulting)

01.03.2020 Ryan Stanier (Founder & Director The Other Art Fair)

02.02.2020 Candida Gertler (Funder & Director of Outset) & Martina Batovic (Director of Dorotheum UK)

10.11.2019 George Marsh (Brooke Benington Director)

09.10.2019 Ibrahim Mahama

15.09.2019 Paul Benney

18.08.2019 Jo Baring (Director of the Ingram Collection)

22.06.2019 ART NIGHT 2019 (Special Edition)
CURATED PROGRAMME: Helen Nisbet | Cory Arcangel & Hampus Lindwall | Joe Namy | Alice Theobald;
OPEN PROGRAMME: Abigail McLachlan & Alex Stevens | Roy Immanuel | Amy Pettifer;
CURATED BY VASSILIKI: Paul Benney with James Ribbans & Nitin Sahwney | Martin Creed | Farhad Farzali | Stephane Graff & Mustaliki | ReepsOne

26.05.2019 Rob & Nick Carter

28.04.2019 David Gryn (Curator and Founder of Daata Editions)

31.03.2019 David Birkin

03.03.2019 Ksenia Zemtsova (ART NIGHT co-founder and Director)

03.02.2019 Simone Rowat (from Forensic Architecture)

09.12.2018 Jon Sharples (Chair of the Simmons & Simmons Art Network)

11.11.2018 Caroline Worthington (Director of the Royal Society of Sculptors)

14.10.2018 Idris Khan

16.09.2018 David Elliott (curator, writer and museum director)

22.07.2018 James Ostrer

24.06.2018 Nancy Fouts (with Flowers Gallery curator Isabel Bingley)

27.05.2018 Nick Hornby

29.04.2018 Oreet Ashery (with curator Fatos Ustek)

01.04.2018 Hugo Wilson (with curator James Putnam)

04.03.2018 Stephane Graff (with his alter ego Professore)

10.12.2017 Rana Begum

12.11.2017 Joseph Kosuth

15.10.2017 Emi Avora

30.07.2017 Shezad Dawood

25.06.2017 Michael Armitage

28.05.2017 Michael Landy

30.04.2017 Jeremy Deller

02.04.2017 Jane & Louise Wilson

05.03.2017 Richard Wilson

05.02.2017 Jane McAdam Freud

08.01.2017 Gavin Turk

11.12.2016 Paul Fryer

13.11.2016 Justin Coombes

16.10.2016 Nathaniel Rackowe